English Fluency Level: How is it divided?

Check out how the stages of English fluency are divided in the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages – CEFR

Find out in what stage of English Fluency you are.

“I’m not fluent, but I speak in an advanced level”. You probably have already heard somebody saying that, haven’t you? In this post, we will talk about the polemic issue of English fluency level and how it’s ranked.

First of all, you should know:

We believe that there are two types of people: the ones who are and the ones who are not fluent in English.

It’s as simple as that! So, forget about this idea of beginning, basic, intermediate or advanced level. You either master the English language or you don’t.

But don’t mistake fluency for a wide vocabulary. They are completely different things.

For example:

Someone who just knows a lot of words in English probably won’t be able to maintain a conversation with a native English speaker, because this person isn’t fluent.

How is the fluency acquisition process evaluated?

For those who are, in fact, in the process of acquiring fluency in English, there is a pattern to classify in what learning stage they are.

It’s the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). It’s used all around the world to describe linguistic skills, including in the English language.

How does the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages work?

The CEFR divides the language acquisition process in six stages. They are: 


At this level, students who aren’t native English speakers can communicate in a simple way. They are able to:


Here, the students can understand isolated sentences and expressions related to personal information and shopping. They can also:


At this level, the students can easily talk about everyday subjects, but with a few limitations. They are able to:


At this level, the students can understand most of the texts and conversation topics. Their grammar knowledge is also well developed at this point. Therefore, they are able to:


At this stage, the students functionally master all the language. This means that they are able to:


At this stage, the language knowledge has been developed to the same level of a native speaker. Therefore, at this point the students are able to:

How can a person reach each one of these stages?

In order to advance in the fluency acquisition stages defined by the CEFR, it’s important to find a course that provides the proficiency level you desire.

At EON Uptime, for example, it works like this:

Now that you know how the fluency acquisition stages are defined and how to reach them, how about testing your English level? Click here and do the test!